The Marvelous Story of Claire d'Amour

by Maurice Magre
adapted by Brian Stableford

cover by Mike Hoffman

Claire d’Amour was delighted with Maurice because he knew nothing of life, he was simple, proud and charming. But she was various and changing, similar in that respect to the waves of the sea.
US$ 21.95 /GBP 12.99
5x8 tpb, 248 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1-61227-652-6
Maurice Magre (1877-1941) was one of the most far-ranging and extravagant French writers of fantastic fiction in the first half of the 20th century, and perhaps the finest of them, because of the fertility and versatility of his imagination and the manner and purpose for which he deployed it.
This volume, the first of a series of twelve dedicated to Magre’s works, offers thirteen stories mostly written between 1900 and 1905, that belong to the genre called conte merveilleux, often inadequately translated as “fairy tales,” but more accurately rendered as “tales of enchantment,” or, in this case, disenchantment.
Although these stories might be considered atypical of Magre’s work, variants of the symbolic figure of Claire d’Amour continued to recur in his work. The flower of youth was replaced in the fullness of time by other blooms, but that motif remained perennial in numerous variations.

Marcelle [1901]
Le Premier amour du docteur Faust [Dr. Faust’s First Love, 1902]
Marinette et le vieil ondin [Marinette and the Old Water-Sprite, 1902]
Histoire merveilleuse de Claire d’Amour [The Marvelous Story of Claire d’Amour, 1903]
La Fleur de jeunesse [The Flower of Youth, 1903]
Histoire d’un grenadier qui n’avais pas de chance [The Story of an Unlucky Grenadier, 1903]
Le Marchand de jouets [The Toy Merchant, 1903]
Le Pauvre musician et le petit génie [The Poor Musician and the Little Genie, 1903]
La Poupée [The Doll, 1903]
Histoire de Lili-des-Roses et du prince nègre [The Story of Lili-des-Roses and the Black Prince, 1903]
La Dernière Sirène [The Last Siren, 1905]
Le Berger roi [The Goatherd King, 1905]
Les trois métiers de Jeannet [Jeannet’s Three Professions, 1913]
Introduction, Afterword and Notes by Brian Stableford.