The Empire of the Necromancers 1: The Shadow of Frankenstein

(The Empire of the Necromancers 1)
by Brian Stableford

cover by Daniele Serra

"If a reliable means can be found to make all the grey men as competent as General Mortdieu, then the world will be changed out of all recognition within a generation. If, as John Devil supposes, the brains of dead men can be relocated in new and sturdier bodies, the change will be even greater. When the contest to discover such things was a small affair involving lone men of dubious soundness of mind, it was bound to progress slowly, but that is no longer the case. Soon, the British Empire, like every other in the world, will be an Empire of Necromancers within a decade."

US$ 20.95 /GBP 12.99
5x8 tpb, 248 p.
ISBN-10: 1-934543-63-4
ISBN-13: 978-1-934543-63-2

1821. Thanks to the technique recently discovered by Victor Frankenstein, it is now possible to resurrect the dead. The British Crown put their best man, former Scotland Yard Superintendent Gregory Temple on the trail of criminal mastermind Henri de Belcamp, a.k.a. John Devil, who plans to use such technology, and the "Grey Men" it produces, to reshape the world. But behind the scenes, another faction is secretly at work: an esoteric secret society of immortals led by the alchemist Joseph Balsamo who also seek Frankenstein's secret...

The Shadow of Frankenstein is the first volume in a prodigious Alternate History saga which embraces the works of Mary Shelley, Paul Féval, Alexandre Dumas and others, written by Brian M. Stableford, an acknowledged master of the genre, author of the critically acclaimed The Plurality of Worlds.

Stableford has been a professional writer since 1965. He has published more than 60 science fiction and fantasy novels, as well as several authoritative non-fiction books. He is also translating the works of Paul Féval and other French writers of the fantastique for Black Coat Press which also published his most two recent fantasy novels: The New Faust at the Tragicomique and The Stones of Camelot.

Contents: The Shadow of Frankenstein includes "The Grey Men" and "The Child-Stealers" which appeared respectively in Tales of the Shadowmen Nos. 2 and 3.

read a chapter